personal

21 Questions, 21 Answers

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

RULES: Answer eleven questions the tagger has asked, then tag ten other bloggers to answer your eleven questions.

*I know the tag was for 11 answers, but I was tagged by two people.

Tagged by: Zoe of Confetti Flurries & Ate Ida of The Green Tea Enthusiast 🙂

WARNING: This will be a very wordy post, so I’m apologizing in advance (lol).

Do you have hidden talents? If so, what are they?

This isn’t exactly a hidden talent, but I can sing. I consider it somewhat of a hidden talent because I don’t usually sing in front of crowds (aside from my family). I did make a Soundcloud earlier this year, so you can check it out if you want 🙂 (shameless plug lol)

Name 3 things you can’t leave the house without.

My phone, wallet and a notebook and pen to write or draw ideas. (Yes, I know that was 4 items but I guess the notebook and pen are a package deal?)

If you were in a car, rain started to pour, and you were looking outside the window, what’s that one song that would play in the background?

Definitely “Better Together” by Us The Duo (originally performed by Jack Johnson). The song makes me happy, especially since rain makes us feel slightly gloomy. It’s a great song, so I’m leaving the link right here.

What’s a movie you’ll never get tired of watching? (Add a fave quote from it.) 

The Devil Wears Prada. I’ve loved this movie since it came out and I still love it now. It’s a funny movie that also teaches young people how intense the fashion industry is.

If you could only drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Either lemon iced tea or TWG’s Vanilla Bourbon tea.

Would you rather be a mermaid with a hideous tail or a fairy with hideous wings? Why?

I think I’d rather be a fairy with hideous wings because people shouldn’t look at the superficial things and focus what’s on the inside. (wew)

Wait, how hideous are we talking, exactly?

Who is your ultimate bae? (… I had to.)

Harry Styles. (he was the first person that popped into my mind sorry)

What was the first fiction book you’ve read?

The Hunger Games or Paper Towns. I’m not sure which one I read first, but these two books got me into reading more books in the fictional YA genre.

If you could live anywhere (even in a fictional world), where would you live?

Non-fictional, San Francisco. I’ve mentioned this city quite a few times on this blog, but it’s  because I love it very much. Every part of the city inspires me, from the houses of the city to the hustle and bustle of Union Square. It also brings back memories, because I’ve been here quite a few times and a lot of my family members live there.

Fictional, Pixie Hollow. Because, I mean, who doesn’t want to be a fairy? Living with other fairy friends is a definite plus.

I also want to know, why did you start blogging?

This is gonna be pretty long (lol).

I had this notebook where I would write about my experiences and a few poems and stuff, but only showed them to a couple of people because I’m a very private person when it comes to the stuff I write. That was my “blog”, so to speak. The idea of blogging always occurred to me, but my privacy issues and the thought of no one caring about it got in the way. But a lot of my friends convinced me that it doesn’t matter how many reads/follows I get, what matters is how much I enjoy it.

If you could be any object for a day, what would you be?

“Life gives you many colors, its ‘you’ who has to create a a memorable masterpiece.” – Anonymous

If I were an object, I’d be a blank canvas. I have always lived like a blank canvas – always ready to paint or draw something new, something different every time. I might not be the most creative person in the world (even though most people think I am), but I feel like I’ve always been a blank canvas – open to all colors of life and the different hues of work. The canvas represents endless opportunities, and the colors are those opportunities.

How would you spend a lazy afternoon?

I would usually browse YouTube endlessly (Buzzfeed videos, mostly), but when I don’t feel like watching short videos, I watch a movie. Recently, I’ve been loving fashion documentaries like Dior & I and The September Issue. If I don’t want to watch anything, I put on some music and read, then at times draw, letter, and paint.

Any fears or insecurities? No judging, I promise!

I live in the constant fear of not being good enough. It kills me when I do something and in my head I just think, “Oh, I could’ve done better” or “I should’ve done this”. That’s why when I receive compliments on something I’ve done or achieved, I remember them forever. I take them to heart because it feels like “Wow, people actually like what I’m doing!”. 

On the topic of insecurities, I struggle with trying to love my body and myself in general. It’s probably because I grew up a chubby kid, and my family used to give me nicknames, such as “siopao”. I didn’t mind them before, but as I grew up, the way people saw me really mattered. I didn’t want to be called “fat” or “ugly”, I wanted to be one of the pretty girls that everyone liked. At the moment, I’m still trying to accept myself the way God made me, and the insecurity is slowly going away. 🙂

What’s your guilty pleasure food? (aka the diet deal breaker)

My ultimate guilty pleasure food (or snack, in my case) is nori (dried seaweed). When I have nothing to eat, this is usually what I go for. Also, it’s very, VERY addicting.

3 things on your wishlist right now?

A Sakura Koi watercolor set. I’ve actually been wanting this watercolor palette for a while now, but I didn’t think I was ready to start using it, since its pretty high end and I felt like I’d just ruin it. But after a bit of practice, I feel like I could use it now.

A black leather rucksack. Do you know those backpacks that are closed by pulling two strings? I’d really, REALLY love a black leather one because it would go with most of my outfits and it seems like a really efficient bag for travel. (Also, my black tote bag is wearing out lol.)

Concert tickets. I know that I’ve already been to a lot of concerts, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to attend more! Music is one of my favorite things, and getting to see the artist in real life and being with people with the same thought seems like an amazing experience.

Favorite song to sing in the shower?

I actually have a shower playlist on my Spotify, so I’m gonna put the first 5 songs below:

  • Lean On – Major Lazer, MØ and DJ Snake
  • Cheerleader (Felix Jaehn Remix) – OMI
  • No Control – One Direction
  • Out Of My League – Fitz & The Tantrums
  • Tear In My Heart – Twenty Øne Pilots

Who or what motivates you?

My family and friends are my number 1 motivators. Without them, I don’t think I’d be who I am today. They constantly push me to be my best self and to always stand for what I believe in.

Imagine your idol standing in front of you right now. What would you want to say to them?

I’d probably cry and freak out (on the inside), then tell them how much they mean to me and how much they’ve inspired me.

If you could bring back one historic figure from the dead to have lunch with them, who would that be and why?

I’m not sure if you guys would consider her a historical figure, but I’d bring back Coco Chanel.

Coco Chanel was a pioneer in fashion design. She changed the face of fashion in the 1930s, and empowered women to dress for themselves and not for the viewing pleasure of men. It’d be amazing to talk to her and ask her how she stayed true to herself despite the people thinking she was crazy.

Pet peeves?

I hate fake people. I’m sure most of us do too, but I’ve had many experiences with people like this and they just piss me off. Who are you trying to impress? If you’re not yourself, who’s gonna wanna be friends with you?

Who is/are your favorite blogger/s? / Who are your favorite bloggers/Youtubers/Twitter accounts/Instagram people/whatever? 

These are two separate questions from both people so I’m putting them together.

I follow quite a number of people on all my social media accounts, but some of my favorites include Abbey Sy, Tricia Gosingtian, the Enciso sisters, Camille Co, Laureen Uy, Zoe Sugg (Zoella), Alexis Ventura (Ink Scribbler), my ates Ida Siasoco and Celina Cruz, and, last but not least, my best friend Zoe Andin (aka one of the people who inspired me to start blogging). I suggest checking their blogs/social media accounts out because these people are amazing at what they do, and I’m sure you’ll get a spark of inspiration like I did.

There are 21 things you probably didn’t know about me, and now you do! I hope you guys saw a bit more of myself in this post. I’m tagging anyone who’s reading and would like to do this tag! 🙂

IMG_4255

Leave a Reply

