life lately

Life, Lately: Walking Through The Storm

Hi guys!

It’s almost midnight as I’m writing this. I’m currently watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s and doing some personal art to de-stress myself from school.

Now that I look back, August’s been chaotic – midterm presentations, midterm exams, lots of social events (mostly concerning family), and a concert in between. It’s also been about working extra hard to battle all the hardships in my life and walking and making it through the storm that was my first midterm in high school (i.e. maintaining a decent 8-hour sleep pattern every day + balancing school with my social life). It wasn’t all bad, though. I picked up a couple of new hobbies, revisited some old ones, and learned a couple of life lessons along the way.

Here’s a quick recap of life recently.

When The Performance Tasks Start Entering

If you don’t know already, I’m still a student in high school. I’m in 11th grade, which is considered the “senior high school” year now. All the students of my batch are required to pick a track that corresponds to the career path they want to take (Business, Humanities, Science, etc.)

My workspace. (It isn’t usually this neat and pretty though LOL.)

I’m in the Sports, Arts & Design track, and my August has been pretty damn hectic. Our midterm exams were on the second week of the month, so we crammed a lot of the major projects before that. I don’t mind cramming (as I’ve been doing it for the past 5 years of my school life LOL) , but when you have almost 10 major projects to pass in the span of two weeks, I’m not so sure. I’d walk to my classroom each morning with tired eyes and would randomly fall asleep at any given time. (It also doesn’t help if the project is a creative one, because they expect a lot from the “artsy students”.)

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Sports, Arts and Design! (commonly referred to as SAD) Stay rekt 🙂

The projects really opened my eyes to a lot of new things, though (THANK YOU, GOD). I learned how to research more effectively (read: not just using the Internet to research), how to manage my time wisely (thanks to my trusty planner), and become more confident in my work through oral presentations. They also taught me to value sleep, because I’d reward myself every weekend by oversleeping a tiny bit 🙂

Reconnecting with Family

My family’s number one priority (on both sides) is making time for each other, and August was no exception.

fambam

My fam!

There were a lot of birthdays, anniversaries, and just other things my family usually celebrates during the month. I got to see some of the relatives I rarely do see, meet some I’ve never met, and made new friends with them as well. I found out how much bigger my family actually is (we’re already a huge one and there are still people I haven’t met!) and why they value each other a lot. Because we all live in different parts of the world, we’re rarely complete. But when we are (even almost), it’s amazing to see.

Picking Up New Hobbies

When I get into something, it gets serious. Around the first week of August, Mom picked up an adult floral coloring book. Ever since the day she started, she couldn’t stop. It’s pretty obvious where this is going (lol). I bought some as well, and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

My gadget use minimized and it relieved most of my stress from school. When I would feel down, I’d pick up a coloring book and do one page. I highly recommend doing this because it really does help (I promise).

IMG_1069

I also revisited fashion sketching, and I forgot how fun it was to sketch clothes. I know, I know, my dream is to become a designer, but I haven’t sketched in a while because of two major reasons – a) school and b) the worst creative block you can imagine. But I’ve been doing it much more often now, and I don’t intend on stopping any time soon.

Creating with Passion

This is one of the major life lessons I’ve learned over the course of August, and it really convinced me that this is what I want to do in the future.

Some of the books that helped me, my weapons of mass creation, and my notebooks.

Ever since I became an “artist”, I’d constantly create when my mind tells me to. My notebook became one of my bag essentials, and showcasing my work came naturally to me. But when people started complementing me on my work, that feeling of validation stuck to me. It drove me to create more things out of pressure and acceptance rather than for myself. I’d strive to be better at people who also excelled in my craft, and it came to a point where I hit a major creative block.

When I enrolled in my Arts class, it opened my eyes to the fact that there’s always going to be someone better than you at everything. What matters most is that you’re proud of what you’ve created and if you really are happy doing what you do best.

IMG_4255

Leave a Reply

