Uncategorized

Life, Lately: Transitions & New Beginnings

I want to start by saying that I am physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausted. Just when I thought my life couldn’t get any more eventful, it did.

November (and a few weeks of December) was full of new beginnings and transitions (which seems a little weird to me, considering the month marks that the year is almost over), and I had to just go with everything. Aside from new things and events, I discovered more about myself and other things. I got into new hobbies and learned a bunch of new things along the course of the month.

For one, I became a model for a fashion show. It felt very, VERY weird for me, as I’m used to being behind the scenes during fashion shows. But I was called on by my teachers and batch officers to model a gown for a “pre-prom fashion show” of sorts.

img_0694img_0695

You might be thinking: “Why is Lia telling us about a fashion show?” Well, let me tell you, that fashion show is one of the best experiences of my life. Why? My confidence and self – esteem levels rose to a much higher level than before. The night before the show, I couldn’t sleep, because all the possible mishaps that could happen were circulating in my brain. Minutes after, I felt so alive and confident in myself.

img_0817img_0815

Special thanks to Tita Rachel Lobangco for the photos.

My second semester also started that week. Being so used to coming to school and knowing my schedule, I felt so out of place settling into the second semester.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Another memorable experience was my first college campus tour! We visited the De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde, which is one of the premier colleges for aspiring artists in the Philippines (and my dream college as well).

img_0912img_0924img_0939

My lovely class and I on our tour : )

I got into a lot of new things as well over the course of those weeks. Most of the “new things” I’m referring to include music, books, movies, hobbies…yeah, those things. (I’ll talk about these in another blog post, which I’ll link here!)

img_2692

The one standout experience of the month had to be our work immersion. Real talk: I only wanted to go because it was overnight and I didn’t want to miss out on the experience of going on a trip with my classmates. Little did I know that the trip would completely change my outlook on my future.

img_1682img_1643

The sessions and talks all seemed to teach us the same thing, but in different ways: “Love who you are and be proud of what you do.” Each of the people in the workplace had so much passion in what they were doing, and it was so powerful that we all felt it radiating onto us. It was such an amazing and eye – opening experience.

img_1658img_1660

Well, this has been a crazy few weeks. How’s life been for you guys so far?

IMG_4255

Leave a Reply

